Commission’s Beginning

histprv1On October 20, 2003 the Moberly City Council approved an ordinance which established the Moberly Historic Preservation Commission and permitted the appointment of its membership. On October 28, 2004 The Moberly Historic Preservation Commission was certified under provisions of Section 101(c) of the National Historic Preservation Act as a participant in the Certified Local Government (CLG) Program. A Preservation Plan was adopted by ordinance on October 18, 2004.

Purpose & Objectives

The role of the Moberly Historic Preservation Commission includes, but is not limited to, the following:

  • Identify historic resources significant to Moberly’s past.
  • Protect historic resources.
  • Establish economic incentives to encourage historic preservation.
  • Provide technical assistance for historic preservation.
  • Heighten awareness of historic preservation in Moberly and educate the public.
  • Develop support for historic preservation from individuals, not-for-profit groups and businesses.


The Moberly Historic Preservation Commission meets quarterly.

Commission Members:

  • Carolee Hazlet (Chair)
  • Sara Fleming
  • JW Ballinger
  • Mona Lawrence
  • Steve Nuhn
  • Judy Orten
  • Connie Asbury-Planning and Zoning
  • Herb Lawrence-Councilmember

View agendas and minutes.

Union Station Opening

unionstationOn December 11, 1889, the doors of the new Union Station were opened to the public for an evening of feasting and dancing. The magnificent $40,000 Union Station was completed and Moberly was celebrating its newest landmark of the railroad era. In the years that followed, thousands of visitors were to pass through its doors and admire its ornate furnishings, steam heat and electric lights.

Visit the Missouri Alliance for Historic Preservation for more information on preserving our history.